Punishments for Theft Convictions in Illinois

Theft can loosely be defined as the act of taking possession of property or services without authorization from the owner. If you take possession of stolen property, you can also be charged with this offense. Theft can be put into four broad categories based on value of items stolen.

Punishments for Theft Convictions in Illinois

1. Class A Misdemeanor Theft

This is theft of property with a value of $500 or less. This criminal offense is also known as petty theft. In addition to the $500 limit, the theft must not involve taking of property or money directly from another person.

– Punishment: Imprisonment for a maximum of one year, restitution, and a fine not exceeding $2,500. If you are found guilty of a Class A misdemeanor theft, you will be required pay a fine of up to $2,500 and spend up to one year in prison.

2. Class 4 Felony Theft

If you steal property worth $500 or less from a government agency, school, or place of worship, you can be charged with a Class 4 felony theft. The only difference between a Class 4 felony theft and a Class A misdemeanor theft is the owner of the the property. The punishment for Class 4 felony theft is also much more severe.

– Punishment: Restitution for losses associated with the theft, payment of a fine not exceeding $24,000, and a prison sentence ranging from one to three years.

3. Class 3 Felony Theft

This is a criminal offense involving the theft of cash, property, or services with value ranging from $500 to $10,000. If a theft incident involved taking of cash from another person without their permission, you can be charged with a Class 3 felony theft even if the amount or value is less than $500. Please note that retail theft of goods or property worth over $300 still counts as a Class 3 felony theft.

– Punishment: Restitution for losses associated with the theft, imprisonment for two to five years and a fine not exceeding $25,000.

4. Class 2 Felony Theft

If you are suspected to be directly involved in a theft involving cash or property worth between $500 and $10,000 from a government agency, place of worship, or school, you can be charged with a Class 2 felony theft.

– Penalties: Restitution for losses associated with the theft, imprisonment for three to seven years, and a fine of up to $25,000.

When you are facing criminal charges relating to suspected theft, you should hire the defense lawyers at Chicago Trusted Attorneys to ensure you do not spend years in prison or get fined.

Share Button